MINI Cooper Forum banner

Automatic headlights and daytime running lights

54K views 8 replies 5 participants last post by  Kev50027 
#1 ·
Hi, Newbie here,
Just got my first mini last week - a 14plate cooper sd roadster in lightning blue. She is gorgeous, but I'm having a minor issue with the automatic xenon headlights and the daytime running lights option.
So far the dealer has been unable to explain to me exactly how these two work together or separately, and thus I need to help of other owners. The car is a UK spec car (not sure if that makes a difference?) (and yes I have read the manual, but to no avail).

The issue is - with lights set to auto (position 3 on the stalk )(and dlr off) - my full xenons are on permanently, regardless of weather and daylight conditions - i had assumed, like on my previous car that when sunny etc., the auto lights would automatically switch themselves off?!

With the DLR option turned on - again, my full headlamps are on fully - I would have assumed them to be at half power, or only the lower lamps in the bumper would be on.

The other issue appears to be, regardless of the settings being used - my speedo and rev counter are illuminated, which to me means my headlights are on.

Please can someone help - I'm off to the dealer tomorrow (saturday) morning for some assistance, but since they can't explain it to me on the phone, I some how doubt it will be any better in person.

Thanks in advance!!

See less See more
#3 ·
If Auto is selected the headlights should come on in low light conditions and be off in bright light, but there is a daylight running option selectable on the car computer to allow the headlights to be on dip all the time.
They wont come on half power on the daylight running mode, only normal dip.

So if the daylight running option is not selected and auto is, the lights should go on and off themselves as the daylight brightness level dictates.
Thats how mine work.