Finance & Insurance Use this forum to discuss financing and insuring your MINI

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old Dec 28th, 2007, 06:27 PM Thread Starter
Fin
Giggity-goo!

Local Time: 08:13 AM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

United Kingdom Male View Fin's Thunder Blue & Silver 1st Gen MINI Cooper S JCW GP Profile

Send a message via MSN to Fin
Insurance/tax/MOT Arrrrgghhhhhh!

Hey everybody,

My dad recently passed away in August and I have been sorting through all the stuff you have to when someone dies. I was a named driver on his car, and I rang the insurance to inform them and asked what it would cost to start a policy in my name so that I could drive it if needs be. I told them that I have a car of my own so I wouldn't even do 1000 miles a year in his, yet they still came back with 1500 , so I told them to cancel the policy.

I subsequently declared his car off the road (SORN) and have it insured on my company vehicle insurance policy for fire/theft while it is parked on the driveway. I thought I may be able to get my broker to insure the car through the company for me to drive, but he informs me that the companies that they use don't insure drivers under 25 (ie me) on vehicles of a higher insurance group; hence why he couldn't help me out on my car either.

I won't be 25 until June, and I am going to have to move the car before then. I have since noticed that since I SORN'd the car the MOT has lapsed. My questions are thus:
  1. I didn't claim a refund on the tax left (many other things on my mind) so there is still a tax disc on the car until April 2008. If I declare it back on the road is this tax still valid?
  2. If no.1 is a yes, can I legally drive it on the basis that the insurance on my GP covers me to drive other cars 3rd Party (and I am the registered keeper of my dad's car now).