MINI Cooper Forum banner

Insurance for 17 years old new drivers on Cooper

13K views 62 replies 30 participants last post by  harrop 
#1 ·
Any 17 year olds on here that had the Cooper as their first car, if there are, what sort of insurance are you paying for ur MINI?

#4 ·
I'm currently 17 and this is my first car. I have a MINI cooper CVT and the insurance isn't expensive at all. I don't know the exact price, I'll find out for you and post it tommorrow. I don't know where you live, as that may make a difference, but I live in the US.

#7 ·
im 18 now but i had my insurance quote when i was 17 as i had my car on my 18th b/day, it was.....

All fully comp under my own name.

£950 4 the one, with a pass plus

£1250 sumut like that for the cooper, with a pass plus.

£1600 for the cooper s, cant remember if that was with or without a pass plus.

But then again im a bird so i think it will be more for a bloke.

#10 ·
weeman said:
as a first driver, i was quoted £5000:( by elephant but i also hear that BMW's own MINI insurance is very cheap. :confused: anyone have experience with this?
they are very competative for most people

Mini Cruiser said:
yes me, thats who im insured with. Everyone else wanted like, 2.5k for the ONE, i found minis own insurance the cheapest, althought at times they r annoying!
:) MC in what way are they annoying?

#13 ·
whats all this about??

when i was 17, my first car was an old austin metro, which i was damned proud of, cause at least i had my own set of wheels.

maybe im just cynical, but im sure there will come a time when the 'mummys and daddys' kids of the UK have to stand on their own feet, and then there will be a shock.

what can they have to look forward too in later life, if they can afford to be cruising about at 17 in cars that most of us have had to save for years for!!

maybe im just getting old,..but before me and my partner got together, jointly, i could never have thought of buying the motor we are getting.