MINI Cooper Forum banner

Mini problem - please help!!

4K views 13 replies 7 participants last post by  kyled 
#1 ·
Hi all,

Sorry if this is becomes a long post, I'm no car expert and am going crazy right now!!

I've owned a 2006 Mini One (R50) since 2008 at which point it had covered 8,000 miles. The car was originally purchased from Mini Oxford, and has always been serviced with Mini with no problems ever encountered.

It has now done 70,000 miles and whilst driving it suddenly started with loud banging noises coming from the engine. I had no warning lights on at all, but decided to stop immediately and had the car towed to Mini. This was on NYE (31.12.12) and the car is still with them.

Electrical diagnostics was carried out, revealing nothing.

They took apart the engine covers, and claimed the "timing change tensioner" was to fault, and could be fixed at a cost of around £200. They replaced this, but then claimed this hadn't fixed the problem, and a new engine would be required at a cost of £4,500.

Seeing as I just got a trade in value of £4k for the car, I was obviously shocked and demanded to know exactly what the fault was. However Mini were not able to tell me, and obviously I'm not prepared to pay £4.5k when the car is worth £4k and I don't even know if the problem is an inherent/recurring problem.

Mini then said they would apply to Mini UK for goodwill against the cost of repair as the car had always been serviced at Mini, etc. Mini UK then called to say "as the engine failed due to having no engine oil, they would not be contributing a penny to the cost of repair".

In the meantime, I have received a bill from Mini for £300 for the diagnosis and replacement of tensioner which did absolutely nothing and from which I still do not know the fault.