![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Rate Thread |
| | #1 |
| MINI2 Regular Join Date: Jun 2002 Location: Milwaukee, WI, USA Local Time: 06:57 PM
Posts: 218
Offline | My MINI Site Got Ripped Off!! I was checking my web server logs and found someone has copied most of my site http://minicooper.servepics.com and put it on his site http://www.omerfaruk.5u.com/ Any suggestions on what I should do? (other than send a futile email?) 2003 Dark Silver / Black Cooper S Black Leatherette, Anthracite Trim, Premium / Sport / Cold Packages, HK Stereo, Auto Wipers / Mirror Visit My MINI Site |
| |
| | |
| Sponsored Links Registered members do not see Google Ads posts, they can also post messages, pictures, and classified adverts. Register your free account today and become a member of MINI2 - MINI Forum | |
| | #3 (permalink) |
| Official MINI2 Fluffer Join Date: Jul 2001 Location: Spearmint Rhino Local Time: 12:57 AM
Posts: 5,261
Offline | I'd be flattered in a way. Then I'd start posting porn just to see if he copies. ![]() There is just one moon and one golden sun; And a smile mean friendship to ev'ryone; Through the mountains divide, and the oceans are wide; It's a small world after all. |
| |
| | #4 (permalink) |
| meep meep! | Send an email to whoever hosts his stie. Explain the situation, sometimes they will warn the site owner and it'll end there. I've had someones site removed by their host before in a similar situation. Of course you should contact the owner of the site first and see what he has to say for himself. You may find he'll just sort it out and apologise. |
| |
| | #5 (permalink) |
| MINI2 Regular | Since it is doubtful the site was copyrighted it will be hard to do much. You can however use website encryption software when you build your sites. This will prevent low-life scum from ripping off your hard work. I recommend you try Webwolf by Trellian.I use it for my sites. You could complain to the host of the a**h*** that ripped you off and explain the situation. Motor On! 2004 MCS CR/B |
| |
| | #6 (permalink) |
| MINI2 Regular Join Date: May 2003 Location: just moved CA -> NY Local Time: 05:57 PM
Posts: 234
Offline | i hate to be the voice for the opposition here but since your site was created with FrontPage 5.0 and the slideshows were created with XP Powertoys it is hardly an original "design". If we were talking about copying a significantly developed site like MotoringFile.com or MINI2.com for that matter I would say that there is a case for copyright infringement but since your design is so general i think you have to chalk it up to your use of WYSIWYG tools. A normal pattern of development for web programmers is to find things they like, look at the code, and copy it to gain experience. I suggest you take the copying as a form of flattery and then go on to make a more sophisticated design that has a stronger defense for infringement or at least more complicated to reproduce. I just noticed that you wrote this on your home page: "Note that you can save the pictures by right-clicking on the full screen view of the image and choosing "Save As"." as well as this: "Disclaimer: I have no affiliation with BMW Automotive Group and have gathered these photos from many sources including my own personal photographs and pictures posted on public Internet forums. " I think those statements, plus the lack of a copyright statement, are invitations to duplicate your content. No offense intended. |
| |
| | #8 (permalink) |
![]() maker of trouble | Actually, I like the fact that he links directly to your site... he's not copying your site (other than the pic and links on the home page)... He simply translated your homepage into his language, slapped a bunch of ads on there, and linked back to your site. Change the names of your links (your presentations) and they won't be able to link to them any longer... if you notice that they change to match your changes - send them a polite email asking why they are linking to your site; then go from there. Don't fret... If you had been paid to design this site - then you freak out (as I have in the past!!!). Keep going though - don't give up!!! Hmmmmm |
| |
| | #9 (permalink) |
| MINI2 Regular Join Date: Jun 2002 Location: Milwaukee, WI, USA Local Time: 06:57 PM
Posts: 218
Offline | Good points all... thanks for the input. I guess I was just a bit irritated that the guy wouldn't even go the few hours' trouble I did to put the site together, but simply swipe the navigation and everything right off the site. I agree with those who say that I just compiled pics and other content from everywhere I could find it... but this guy was really lazy to just swipe it. At least he could put a link to the source site. I'll send him an email and see what he says. 2003 Dark Silver / Black Cooper S Black Leatherette, Anthracite Trim, Premium / Sport / Cold Packages, HK Stereo, Auto Wipers / Mirror Visit My MINI Site |
| |
| | |
| Sponsored Links Registered members do not see Ads posts, they can also post messages, pictures, and classified adverts. Register your free account today and become a member of MINI2 - MINI Forum | |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Rate This Thread | |
| |
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Am I being ripped off? | zip nolan | General Discussion | 4 | May 27th, 2005 08:42 PM |
| Am i being ripped off? | minifanatic | General Discussion | 36 | Jul 18th, 2004 11:19 PM |
| Barry Boys - MINI gets a mention. Chavs get ripped.. lol | Ian Clark | MINI in the Media | 2 | Apr 22nd, 2004 01:53 PM |
| MINI HK site link is missing from Int site? | Mini M! | MINI in the Media | 0 | Mar 1st, 2003 04:00 AM |
| Help - Being Ripped off By Dealer | S200 | MINI Cooper S | 14 | Jun 11th, 2002 07:24 PM |