MINI Cooper Forum banner

R55/R56 Key Fob rechargeable battery FIX

145K views 16 replies 14 participants last post by  demongrl123 
#1 · (Edited by Moderator)
Hi hi, just want to share my successful replacement of the rechargeable battery of my R55 Key Fob. I have been using my car for more than 5 years and one of my keys was out of juice a few months ago. Though I put it back in the ignition key inserting place and drive for recharging the key fob, it was still malfunctioning.
I asked the BMW shop in HK and they said the key could not be repaired and it costs about HK$3500 for a new one including coding and engraving the key.

I tried to source the internet and strangely that no topic talking about how to repair the key fob (perhaps some for BMW which is more or less the same). Luckily I saw a topic "R56 Keyfob disassembled" which is somehow relevant and then I tried to fix it by myself.

Special Thanks to Milski who gave my guidance on how to remove the casing.

Materials/Equipment required
1. Cutter
2. key fob ring (cuz the original plastic one must be damaged when taken down) (I had replaced a new metal ring for few years.
3. solder gun (no need to solder tin cuz the original one could be reused)
4. Panasonxx VL-2020 3V (180degree) rechargeable battery (can be bought from eBay or Taobao) It costs not more than HK$50 for 1 pc.
5. glue (for reassembling)

Method:
1. remove the existing ring and the mechanical key
2. use a sharp cutter and insert it into the gap of the key fob and cut off the original glue carefully. as it is unavoidably making scratches on the key fob, so it is suggested to cut off the glue at the hidden part by the key fob ring (not at the engraved key side which is exposed)

3. after a while, the key fob will be separated like this.

4. bought a new battery from web or market. be sure it is 180degree (market has 90 degree).