MINI Cooper Forum banner

iPhone/iPod Poor Sound Quality

17K views 15 replies 8 participants last post by  Kev50027 
#1 ·
Hi I'm fairly new to this so i apologise in advance if there is already a topic on this.

I have a 2nd Gen mini cooper 2 with MINI Boost CD DAB Radio and i also got the official MINI iPod lightning cable (Y-cable). Just recently i have noticed that the sound quality is very poor coming from my iPhone. It seems too "bassy" and there is a very bad buzzing noise when certain tones are hit.

However when i use the AUX part with a 3.5mm cable the sound is perfect.

Has anyone else had this issue?

Any help would be much appreciated :)

Thanks
Mike

#2 ·
Hello Mike.

I bought a fJCW last Saturday and on the same day bought the £55 lightning Y-Cable which I am returning tomorrow for the exact same reason.

I also have the upgraded HIFI.

The reason the sound quality is SO SO poor is because when you connect the Y-Cable from the iPhone to the stereo iOS sets the iPhone volume VERY low.

This means you have to set the AUX volume (remember because its AUX, its not a digital sound quality) VERY high on the stereo which makes it very fuzzy and muffled.

You can not change the default iPhone volume when you connect the lightning cable.

Ideally you would have the iPhone volume set to HIGH so you can have the AUX volume low and clear (which you can do using 3.5mm to 3.5 AUX cable, iPhone to Stereo)

The way I have fixed this is to dump the Y Cable because its £55 at poop, have an Apple Lightning cable in the car purely for charging when I need to, and then have a 8GB (or whatever size you like) USB Thumb drive plugged in.

This means its tucked away neatly, and because its purely USB its digital signal and perfect quality. You can also have multiple folders on the USB that act like playlists etc.

#6 · (Edited)
The reason the sound quality is SO SO poor is because when you connect the Y-Cable from the iPhone to the stereo iOS sets the iPhone volume VERY low.