LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old Aug 28th, 2016, 02:57 PM Thread Starter
MINI2 Newbie

Local Time: 12:34 AM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

DIY R56 6ND Bluetooth & USB Retrofit

Hi All

Im a little new to using this forum but have extensively scoured this and others regarding my issue.

Ive read lots of forum posts but as far as I can see, Ive yet to see anyone that has had the same issue as me. I have a Feb 07 R56 Mini Cooper which came with just the aux jack and no bluetooth. As I want to use my phone and music from my iPhone, I purchased the 6ND Bluetooth and USB retrofit kit (Which contains all of the cables) from a BMW dealer along with the ULF box off of eBay.

As I've worked with cars before I installed the kit without too much issues. After this I knew it needed coding, so using NCS Expert I added the 6ND to the VO (in both the CAS and the FRM) and reset the 2RAD (Radio Module). After coding I found that the Bluetooth showed up and I was able to connect to it from my phone. However the USB port is causing me issues as when I click the "Audio" button on the radio I expected an option for USB to show up which it doesn't. Along with this the AUX port is still working when it is connected to then radio where it was originally connected and doesn't work when its connected to the ULF box.

From this Im assuming that the ULF box is connected correctly and is a programming issue, as the Bluetooth is working correctly. In NCS I can see the 2MULF module show up but I can't seem to program, read or reset this in anyway. I know this isn't on the CAN bus and is instead on the MOST bus, however I've tried to use "Tool32" to enable the "MOST-Gateway" feature in the Radio which is connected to both bus' to no success. As well as this I have also changed the VO code to $644 and $6FL which also gives the same result.