MINI Cooper Forum banner

R56 Cooper S Wheels & Tyres for Winter

8K views 13 replies 8 participants last post by  Windrestrictor 
#1 · (Edited)
Hi,

I am new to this. I have just bought a 2013 'Cooper S' as seen in attached photo. It runs Standard 17" rims. From my previous 2011 Mini Cooper I have a set of Pepper Pot alloys fitted with Winter Tyres 175/65/R15. I am sure I can fit them, i will try this weekend.

My Question is; is it Legal? Do I need to inform my Insurance provider?

Thanks,

Tom.

Attachments

See less See more
#5 ·
The 15" don't fit, Brakes are bigger. Looks like I will have to try and find some 16" wheels:(

If you have JCW Brakes the 16 inch wheels will not fit. You will need to go 17 inch and at least a 42 offset. Factory wheels are 48 offset for 17s and 52 for the 18s. Bear in mind that a minimum of 2.0mm clearance must be maintained between the wheel and caliper in all areas.

I borrowed this link from Caveman where you can see the size of the brake disc:
http://minicooper.wikia.com/wiki/Wheel_and_Tire_Fitment_Considerations#Brake_Size

So take the measures of your brake disc and compare :)

#6 ·
Hi
If the wheels tyres are not the original size from vehicle registration,you must inform
the insurance company of change, if not any vehicle accident you may have will go against
you're claims vice versa. It may not happen but be safe be sure,
also why not purchase winter tyres for your original wheel size.
But they do say smaller wheel size with winter tyres is best
Especially for snow grip, good luck,
Kind regards phill

#7 ·