MINI Cooper Forum banner

2006 Auto Mini died while driving, won't restart, OBD data says...

3K views 2 replies 3 participants last post by  mike1967 
#1 ·
Hi - I'm a new owner of a 2006 Mini (Automatic) with 87K miles. While driving on the freeway, I noticed my mini was decelerating rapidly and then it died just as I managed to pull it off to the side of the road.

At first, the engine would kick over, run for 2-3 seconds and then die, but then it stopped turning over at all. It now "sounds" like it would, if only...

All observable electrical functions are still working, the interior lights, windows, A/C and radio, but a group of dash lights came on at the time that it stalled: battery, oil, safety restraint, check engine and the gas guage displayed as empty despite having 1/2 tank the day before.

I've taken out and looked at every fuse in the cab and under the hood and everything "looks" okay there, but I'm new at this so don't know how to test these or for spark. There haven't been any previous issues with overheating that I'm aware of, and it's almost done this one before in much cooler weather when at a stop light. That said, after cooling down in the shade overnight, it still won't start up. Fluid levels are okay from what I can see.

The OBD tool returns only one error, P0070 (Ambient Air Temperature Sensor Circuit) and the following freeze frame and current data is below, but I'm at a loss to understand what I could deduce from it. Could an "Ambient Air Temperature Sensor Circuit" issue cause the engine to die? Also, since I can't turn the engine on, I don't know if that limits the tool's diagnostics.

Freeze Frame Data:
Fuel System Status Bank 1: CL, using H02S
Fuel System Status Bank 2: N/A
Calculated Load: 25.9%
Cooland Temp: 195 F
S.T. Fuel Trim B1: -2.4%
L.T Fuel Trim B1: 2.3%
Intake M.A.P.: 5 PSI
Engine Speed: 1575 RPM
Vehicle Speed: 19.3 mph
Ignition Timing: 17.0
Intake Air Temp: 120 F
Throttle Position: 15.7%

Current Live Data: