MINI Cooper Forum banner

Cat and sensor replacements

4K views 8 replies 4 participants last post by  mike1967 
#1 ·
Hello,

I've had a P00420 code thrown up by the car - an R56 Mini One 2007 (2/2) - and so I took it to the garage for an MOT to see exactly whats wrong. I was told I need a new cat and two new sensors. The car failed on emissions and the sheet is attached. With this info can anyone tell me which two sensors I need? I have been looking on Euro Car Parts and found the correct cat but there are a few variations of sensors. Any help appreciated.

I am planning on replacing it myself. I'm a first-year automotive engineering student and would like to get involved with my car a bit! Any tips?

Cheers.

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
welcome to the is the emissions failure due to sensors or the sensors are part of the issue or they are picking up another problem.
another problem would be timing chain stretched, if car over 60.000 miles then i would say this is most of the problem or cause of the problem, what happens when chain stretches it alters the over lap on the valves this is turn makes it run rich or lean depends on what cycle cam is on at different temperatures,, i always recommend to people these things tend to go hand in hand with these engines any need to repair the cause rather than the outcome if that makes sense. i done a 64.000 miles 1.4 the other day on a 58-plate full service history car low miles, had to do chain and both 02 sensors and after a dose of cataclean,,
or if you just want to get it through mot put a can of cataclean in no more than 1/4 tank of fuel take it for 4000 revs drive for 20 miles and more than likely it will fool the gas machine mot in a bottle,