MINI Cooper Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Engine tech question. I'm an experienced engine builder, just never built one of these little guys before. Just got a fixer upper, 2008 with a naturally aspirated twin cam engine. What is it's eng code designation for when I order parts and, why so many head gasket thicknesses and how do I determine which thickness I need? Perplexed!

·
Registered
5,180 Posts
head gasket thickness ie notch 1 to 4 4 being the thickness and 1 being factory stock size, so if head has been or needs skimming engine builder will tell you what has been removed form head surface and gasket size to suit, most engine re builders will just fit a notch 4 even when they have only lightly skimmed the head, because it lowers the stress on the engine slightly so as to lower compression ratio but increase displacement slightly, engine and tuners do this trick as well as increases the amount of oxy and petrol molecules and helps cool and increases burn more controlled etc,
below link for prince engines as yours is, its used in Citroen and pug psa cars, sometimes cheaper to buy parts as a pug than a mini as all the same

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Engine tech question. I'm an experienced engine builder, just never built one of these little guys before. Just got a fixer upper, 2008 with a naturally aspirated twin cam engine. What is it's eng code designation for when I order parts and, why so many head gasket thicknesses and how do I determine which thickness I need? Perplexed!