MINI Cooper Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone had any problems with their 19% pulleys? I have had one about 8 months but have not installed it because people keep telling me it's going to mess up the car. I would rather not kill my mini.

·
The Silverado
800 Posts
im no pro... from what ive read though.. a 19% pulley is strictly for street use! no tracking..

i think there is a thread going around about someone using a 19% pulley that blew something in his car... check the performance/tuning thread..

Benefit of using a 19% is you dont need to run any ECU upgrades.. and you get more power and lover revs..

I have heard (dont know how true this is) that the MCS supercharger is said to have a 100% life span even if a 16% pulley is used... so 15% is the safest bet..

with the 19% you aren't meant to rev the engine too high for long time periods..
overall... if you are a street driver that isn't too aggressive then the 19% should work.. thats just my opinion though :)

good luck!

·
Registered
444 Posts
If your this worried about putting in a 19, then don't do it. I don't feel that the long term effects are in yet on this mod. There are now questions of possible head gasket failure with the 19, but I'm thinking that there is no connection.
There are several here that love there 19 and will tell you to go for it, but IMHO, I would only do so with caution. Street? Track? Not that much difference in how one drives a MCS as far as I’m concerned. If it proves bad for the track then why would I want it in my car. :eek:

·
Registered
1,215 Posts