MINI Cooper Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
2011 mini clubman diesel n47
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Alan here and I’m new to mini’s and this forum , I’m from Telford, Shropshire. Uk , I have purchased this mini as a fix up and maybe to replace my ageing golf , as for the mini I’m unsure of the model number but engine is 1.6 Bmw unit which I think is the n47. Now for the issues, cam chain rattled on start up for a few seconds but engine has done 90,000 miles , DPF I think maybe shot as previous owner has had it professionally cleaned although on the car and I have a receipt to prove glow plugs have errors and it has had a new genuine control unit for said plugs , boost pressure sensor, DPF sensor, and it has had mice in there somewhere as the sound proof bonnet liner has been half eaten even the aluminium heat shield part😳, now I think I’m going to pull the engine out and do a decent overhaul on it . What’s your thoughts on the DPF , what should I do with it or what you think I could get away with doing , maybe the egr too . Thanks in advance .

·
Registered
7,730 Posts
they all go that way around those miles dpf filter only two ways forward, 1 being fit a new one they dont clean that well as are a saturation filter and collect the red dust within them and are designed to glow when in middle of a regen, or could just delete it and egr valve will need ecu programmed as well, once done the emissions are lower on most cars they go better and dont suffer from all the issues caused with regen ie diesel in the sump etc wearing aware the engine ,, this said its a mot failure if they can tell so must be done in a way that cant see its been done ie knock out the filter part reuse the metal part as visual test at mot,