MINI Cooper Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi
I am a newbie so please bear with me.
I have 2003 cooper ,the midlands gearbox has gone bang.
Can you fit a cooper s R53 Gertrag box to this engine.
Many thanks for any replies
Regards
Clive

·
Registered
1,893 Posts
Yes you can but its not a simple task, you will need:
Gear shift and Bowden cables,
Clutch lines,
Gearbox
Drive shaft
Flywheel
Clutch unit
Clutch Slave.

If your in the UK and the gearbox casing is OK, just get in contact with John Tee at minigearboxes.co.uk in Coventry and get another midlands fitted.

Midlands only break from either and or abuse and neglect. Never labour them in 5th gear, don't flog the gearbox and change the oil every 30k miles.

A rebuilt midlands is a lot cheaper than a 6 speed conversion. You also need the right 6 speed due to the gear ratios so they are similar to the midlands.

·
Registered
1,893 Posts
No, its very doable but one would need very deep pockets due to the economics and you would want to be doing it DIY and try to source reliable parts from a wrecker to keep cost down.

A recent post here gave a ball park quote of over GBP 1000.00 + from memory from John Tee of Mini Gearboxes but you also need to obtain the correct year transmission due to the gear ratios between the two types produced to get as close as you can to the midlands gear ratios ( I cant recall if its the early or later model GB) that best suits the conversion.

·
Registered
1,893 Posts
HiGuys
Thank you for replies, it was just a nice idea
kind regards
Clive
This is a guide to what you would be needing Clive.

Clutch
Pressure Plate
Flywheel
Thrust Bearing
Clutch line
Slave Cylinder (cant recall but may be the same, they look identical on my R50 and R53)
Drive shaft
Gear shift
Gear shift Bowden cables
Exhaust gasket (your dropping from the Cat back to access the gear selector box)
Input shaft seal (if the box is out, change it whilst you have the opportunity)