MINI Cooper Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2006 Mini Cooper, manual transmission
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I’m new to working on Mini’s and I’m in a situation where I’m looking to put a 6-speed manual transmission (from another Mini Cooper) into a 2006 Mini which originally had a 5-speed, if possible.

Does anyone know about the transmissions who could comment on this? Would it ‘just fit’? Would there be sensor issues? Would a different flywheel/clutch be necessary, etc? I know it would need a different shifter assembly—I’m not concerned about that.

Thanks in advance!

·
cristo
2,881 Posts
LOTS of associated parts to swap in.
It makes sense to do on a pre-facelift
with a Midlands or one with a CVT
because of reliability issues with those
boxes, but the Getrag 5-speed is pretty
solid, making it not worth the effort
unless maybe you have a donor car with
all the stuff needed.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Cristo. The issue is that the 5-speed transmission is toast and I will have a 6-speed freely available. Perhaps a friendly junkyard would do a trade for a 5-speed?

Could you give me some idea of the parts needed? Just so I can assess the effort and potential cost.

·
cristo
2,881 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
This is a guide to changing from the
Midlands 5-speed to the Getrag 6-speed,
but you also need just about all these parts
to go from the Getrag 5-speed to the
Getrag 6-speed. Note - some of the
part numbers have been superseded
since this was written, so double check
on realoem as appropriate.

That’s really great, thanks!

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I was perusing the document and saw that it said you need the 6-speed transmission with ‘BKE’ in the part number, and not ‘BKA’. The 6-speed I have has ‘BKD’. The document doesn’t mention ‘BKD’. Is only ‘BKE’ compatible?