MINI Cooper Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all - first off, thank you - this is my first time posting but you have helped many times in the past with little maintenance or repair efforts!

I have a 2008 S convertible with the JCW package. It has been awesome, but I recently was out of town for two weeks and on return, the car ran fine for 30min, but then threw an SES+EML and went into limp mode. After restarting, it ran really rough and could barely idle without dying. Again, went into limp. Since it was already warm, I revved it up to ~3500rpm, and it revved/ran perfectly, and when I reduced the throttle it was fine....for about 5mins...and then limp mode. I went through this cycle multiple times, but made it home to check codes

Codes are: "p1689 - Electronic Throttle Control Monitor level 2/3 torque calculation error" and "p0108 - Manifold Absolute Pressure/Barometric Pressure Circuit High Input". **Key note: the p1689 comes on consistently, but the p0108 only comes on when I do the high rev thing.

After a bit of research, with nothing really found, I went to just do some manual troubleshooting and found/did the following:
-- if left running rough for longer than a few minutes, then the exhaust line (pre cat, post manifold) gets GLOWING RED hot...didn't make that mistake twice
-- if I pull off the wire for cylinder 3, the engine runs identically as when it was connected - but I do have spark, both arc-ing to the distributor and when you pull the plug and ground it. If I pull any other wire, the car runs awful and dies.
-- I switched the plug and wires to rule them out - no change
-- I pulled and switched fuel injectors - no change
-- I manually adjusted the EGR, and separately pulled and cleaned it - no change
-- I replaced the TMAP sensor, as outlined in another MINI2 article fix for the P0108 - no change (if anything, it now has shorter "failure cycles" but that could just be from time)