MINI Cooper Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. Recently bought a 04 mini cooper thinking like most modern cars it would have a key/switch to deactivate passenger airbag so a baby seat can be placed there.

BMW have quoted £581 to do this work and will want at leadt £250 to reactivate it when the baby faces front.

Anyone had a similar issue and did it cost as much as that?

I was quoted £250 originally then the main dealer gave a formal quote of £581 !!

·
Registered
67 Posts
hi,
seems like just about everyone has had this issue!......
i got quoted £250 and desided not to bother just keep baby in the back.....

good luck trying to find a cheeper quote

·
Man from the Ministry
50 Posts
BMW should know better than to quote for deactivation of airbags in cars especially when child seats are in question!!!!!

I witness crash testing for a living in my job and say if they are ok to be manufacturered and airbags form an intergral part of the cars safety systems. I understand the desire to have them deactivated, but surely putting a small child in the front of the car in a rear facing seat is just plain nuts!!

I've seen how lots of child seats react in crashes and my little 10 wk old boy goes in the back of my car and will never be put up the front!

One other thing to check is that have MINI approved car seats for the front of the cars?? It is part of their legal requirement to state if child seats can be placed in the front of the car. If they say "not recommended for rear facing child seats" then there is a safety reason for it.

Nic

Reactions: eclipse

·
Registered
5 Posts
I have a 2004 plate convertible and was told two different stories last week when taking car in for getting the airbag disabled...

1 - it can be done by a code from Mini (more on this shortly...)
2 - A kit has to be fitted with a key to switch on and off (£500 odd cost...)