MINI Cooper Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
325 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm sure these subjects are old hat but i'm new to Mini's so please forgive me.

Been looking around at the alternative induction systems & I figure the performance gains between these will have minimal difference so I guess it's down to:

Easyness to fit
Price
Look

M7 = £150 with lid but utilises the original induction hose. K&N induction hose is about £50
Alta = £315 including the lid!
GTT = £200 & what looks like no induction hose or lid

Pro's & cons for each would be greatly appreciated as i'll probably invest my hard earned cash on pay day :)

Cheers

MAFFA

·
Registered
544 Posts
I'm happy with my GTT CAI but the M7 price is good + you have a UK supplier now (i.e. Full On Motorsport) :wink:

I can't see there being a great difference.

·
Registered
619 Posts
I <3 my Alta box makes me warm inside

·
Registered
325 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
How much is the John Cooper Works airbox & where would I source one of those? Might take a look.

I quite fancy the M7 one. They do it in brushed stainless & black powder coat as well :) I like my bling as you can probably tell from what the engine of my old scooby looked like :biggrin:

MAFFA :tongue:

·
MINI2 Rebirth
149 Posts
I'm sure there are some on here who've tried more than one of those and can give some balanced opinions. I've got the GTT one myself (more info here if you've not found it already) THE GT TUNING PERFORMANCE PARTS DESIGN & PRICING POLICY

As for the closed / not closed debate - I've found the GTT CAI has left an imprint all round the rubber underlay on the underside of the bonnet so there's no doubt it's a snug fit in terms of air sneaking in.

Have you changed anything on your car yet MAFFA? Have you decided what you're going to go for?

·
Premium Member
3,485 Posts
My recommendation is JCW airbox with either GTT Hybrid filter (my set up) or ITG filter