MINI Cooper Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a new driver. We'll im not even driving yet but I was wondering if the Mini was able to be switched into automatic mode or something. I'm a newbie so i know its sort of a silly question but I'm not used to a stick shift. I guess it will be good to learn how to use a stick car but is there an alternative?

·
Registered
1,586 Posts
There is a CVT auto available for the Cooper (but not the S) - I think in N America this has a steptronic-type paddle shift you can engage as well as full auto

Have a go at using the Search function to find the relevant threads in the forum - Try any of the terms above... Good luck!

·
puckstopper
4,260 Posts
jodathmorr said:
I guess it will be good to learn how to use a stick car but is there an alternative?
Yeah, it's called a Buick!:D

Just kidding. The Steptronic CVT thing is one option, but you might be better off putting down a deposit on a MINI and finding a patient friend to teach you stick while you wait. I guess I'm just biased toward manual transmissions, but it's SO much more fun, and you feel much more in tune with what the car is doing when driving a stick shift. Nothing like rowing through the gears on twisty bit of country road. Good times. And it's really not nearly as hard as it first seems, you'll have it aced long before your MINI arrives...

-Ricardo

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
my dad drives a stick so he can teach me.

·
Registered
5,956 Posts
jodathmorr said:
my dad drives a stick so he can teach me.