MINI Cooper Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well here I sit for the third time, considering buying a Mini. I almost pulled the trigger twice before (since they first came out), but couldn't quite do it. I have been driving an E90 BMW 330i sedan for the last 3 years, and an E46 330ci coupe before that. My current lease is up in October, and I am an inch away from placing my order for a new MCS.

I test drove one this weekend and was pretty impressed, they have changed quite a bit since I last drove one. My question is this, do any of you come from a 3 Series BMW, and if so, what are your thoughts as far as a comparison? I am more concerned about road noise and the lack of a decent head unit (stereo) more than anything else, my current 3 Series is so nice as far as cabin amenities are concerned that I don't know if I could adjust to the mini.

Don't get me wrong, I don't think the Mini is a cheap ride, but compared to the BMW there is a noticeable difference. I think the handling is great, and everything else about the Mini is right up my alley. But I commute about 25 miles each way, 4 days a week and I don't know if I will regret the decision once I put in some commute miles.

Any thoughts/advise?

Thanks!

·
Registered
193 Posts
Not quite the same, but we run a 5-series alongside our Mini.

And they're chalk and cheese. We have the 5 for trips away, but the Mini is the default choice for driving pretty much anywhere else. Not sure I'd like it as an only car as we don't (read can't) travel light. My wife seems incapable of not packing the biggest bags we own whenever we go away.

We did come from an A4 and a TT and while I'd happily drive the length of the country in the TT, it was noisy and boomy compared to the A4.

I'd say it probably depends on the type of driving you're likely to do.

·
Rocking the F57
17,719 Posts
Interesting dilemma :p