MINI Cooper Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All, Newbie here with a problem that 2 mobile mechanics have been unable to solve, I have a 2004 Mini One R53. About 4 weeks ago on the way back from work my Battery light started flashing on and off at approx 8 second intervals. By the time I got home, approx 3 miles later, it was flashing once every 2 seconds or so. First mechanic came, diagnosed Alternator problem and changed it. Next day after approx 5 minutes of driving the problem recurred, battery light flashes on goes off for 8 seconds,repeats with less time between flashes over next 3 - 4 miles. Mechanic swapped out Alternator for another replacement and next day same thing happened. I then took it to Halfords Auto Centre who had it for a day and reported it was an unspecified electrical fault that they could not take any further and it needed an Auto Electrician although they did confirm that the alternator was ok. I got an auto electrician up who has changed the serpent belt, tension arm and checked all pulleys are free and not binding., none of which has cured the problem. With an internal USB voltage meter I can see that when I first start driving the voltage is between 14.1 and 14.2 but after 5 minutes (or when the car is warmed up) the batt light comes on, Volts drop to 12.3 and go back to 14.1 when the lights go off. Voltage continues to drop, 12.1, 11.9, 11.7 etc until the car is parked. Next day same thing occurs, 5 minutes til problem kicks in and voltage slowly drops. I know this is a long first post But any help would be gratefully received as I am at my wits end. Please anyone out there...HELP!!

·
Registered
2,307 Posts
This sounds a bit obvious - but is the battery 100% OK. When the battery starts getting slightly tired on these R53s, it can cause all sorts of bizarre symptoms and issues.
Out of paranoia, I also installed the USB voltage display (replaces the ciggy lighter one). Keep a regular eye on it.