120 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am having serious headaches trying to decide on
Cooper or S.

With cooper, I am #20 on the waiting list, which means
I could probably get my car in April or May. If I switch
to S, I would be #28, I would probably be getting the
car may be in November at the earliest given that dealer
told me that they will get only 7 Ss per month.

Please help! Should I wait for the S?

Here are the options I would be getting on each car:

Cooper: $16,850
Sports $1250
Cold Weather $500
Audio $550
Total $19150

S: $19,850
Cold Weather $500
Audio $550
DSC $500
Fog lamps $140
Total $21540

Mind you, S comes with following extras as standard which
you have to pay to get for the cooper (and not to mention
163HP):

Suspension + $500
leather wheel $150
Spoiler $100
16" wheel $500
Sports Seats $270
Total: $1520

Just as a note, although I have 8 years of driving experience, I just started driving stick.

And I hate having to wait for the S when I can start enjoying cooper right away. But then, I might kick myself in pants when I see others riding in a S, and I am left in the dust at the stoplight.

Mind you, I do not have the money to buy a cooper and the upgrade to the S later on. One option I'm thinking of is to buy a cooper and put a turbo on it later on when I feel the lack for the horses.

Please help!!! What should I do?

·
Moderator & Sponsor
3,758 Posts
rei00 said:
....One option I'm thinking of is to buy a cooper and put a turbo on it later on when I feel the lack for the horses.....
Tough decision. But it is very doubtful you will later have an option to put an aftermarket turbo on a standard Cooper. There has been no talk of any aftermarket company developing a turbocharger for the MINI.