MINI Cooper Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i am new to this so bear with me. my wife and i will be purchasing our first mini this spring.i am a dodge tech by trade and this cvt trans has my curiousity up as to the durability of it and maintence schedule including the type of fluid it uses because we are about 500 miles from the nearest dealer which is in utah. my wife cannot operate a stick and insists we get the auto. is this a wise choice. thanks bb1

·
Premium Member
722 Posts
I don't think you should expect any problems with the CVT transmission, it seems to be quite durable. MINIs with them have been on the track, in autocrosses, etc. As to service, the manual with the car doesn't specify the fluid type and there is no "dipstick" for the trans like there is with US automatics. You'd have to ask the dealer about the fluid. Being that far from a dealer might be a general concern for me, its too bad BMW didn't appoint more. We did do a cross country drive of 2300 miles and at times were hundreds of miles from a dealer. We have two MINIs in our family and neither have had a breakdown.

There are also dealers in Denver and Las Vegas if that would be closer for you.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Wait and get your self a Cooper S with a six speed auto box. The CVT is not a very good box it spoils the whole car. My wifes 1 month old CVT Cooper is going in to have the box reprogrammed next week to try and make it a smoother. If this does not work I will probably reject the car and get it replaced.

·
Premium Member
722 Posts
MR ONE, the MINI CVT is the smoothest auto trans. I've ever experienced, bar none. I'm afraid you've got a bad controller or some other problem but its not representaive of the cvt in general.

·
Registered
1,487 Posts
dukesantos said: