MINI Cooper Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi
Yesterday I turned the key in my 2005 Mini cooper S and the lights came on but there was nothing from the engine.
The AA came out and said he thought he thought it could be the starter motor, immobilizer or the key fob but the starter motor was under the drive shaft and it would be a labout intensive job.
He jump started me and I drove to my local BMW service shop and I have received a message from the engineer saying to detrmine the fault will be hours of work.
Can any tell me what the problem may be or how much it might cost me as I am worried at these comments.

Thanks

·
Registered
134 Posts
Next time it does it, turn ignition competely off. Put it in gear and step out of the car and rock it gently forward and backward. Take it out of gear and try to start it. Mine does this every 4 months or so.

·
Registered
199 Posts
i'm no mechanic, but if the AA man managed to jump start it, i'd say it's the starter. rabbit's fix does tend to work unless the starter is completely knackered. I had a 1973 beetle that used to do this and the rocking backwards and forwards trick worked until the motor finally gave up the ghost

·
Registered
1 Posts
I've been having this same problem on and off for the past few months. I have an 02 MINIOne and sometimes when I turn the key all the ignition lights come on, but the car won't start. It won't even make a noise. It usually starts if I leave it for about 15 mins. The last time this happened a week ago it didn't start for two days. The garage did a diagnostic, but the don't know what the problem is. Were you able to find out if it was your starting motor?

·
Registered
199 Posts
i've just thought of another possible and quite likely cause... My sister has a mini one and hers did exactly the same thing a while ago. It's an intermittent fault and it turned out to be the ignition at fault, after getting an auto electrician on the case.