MINI Cooper Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Howdy,

I wanted to get some opinions and suggestions on this topic. I work for County Government here in the US and I drive a Mini Cooper S. I'm a Computer Tech so I have to transport PCs and various equipment but they make me use my vehicle. A friend of mine and I are in the stages of trying to get them to get us a van, but it will be hard since they got rid of our previous county vehicle (piece of junk that was). My question is does anyone know how this would affect my insurance? Should I our shouldn't I call my insurance company? Also I've already had my leather on the back seat ripped (fortunately its small and in the cracks of the seat so you can't see it) as well as had my plastic in the back scratched up. Was wondering if anyone knows or has an idea of how and what the price to replace this stuff would be. Also if anyones faced a similar situation how did you deal with it or what would you do in my situation?

Thanks,
Dd.

·
Registered
43 Posts
ddraig,

first thing's first! Get a moving blanket/pad from Lowe's or Home Depot to protect your boot!!!

Secondly, document everything (receipts and pic's , too). Talk to your manager about compensation. Are you expensing the mileage? It's a good idea, as that's wear and tear on your personal car for business purposes. Your accountant would agree.

given past behavior of typical insurance companys, they woud love to raise rates if you told them you were using your car for business purposes.

Depending on far you want to escalate things, you may want to consult a labor lawyer.

Remember, my advice is worth what you paid for it. ;)

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the suggestions.