MINI Cooper Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2007 Mini Cooper s turbo
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey everyone, this is my first time rebuilding a head AND owning a mini. I just bought a 2007 mini cooper s (turbo) (r56 n14) for cheap and have been trying to get it going but I have hit some walls I need advice on.

Wall #1 - bracket/cap/journal
I’m not 100% sure what they are called but I was taking the camshafts off and there are numbered brackets/caps/journals that hold the cams in place. On the exhaust side one of those brackets are broken/snapped in half. Where do I go from here? I am having a REALLY hard time finding replacement caps/brackets/journals just to replace that one (numbered with a 1 I believe). I also noticed that the first 3 or 4 brackets/caps/journals were hard to get off, I found some metal shavings around the hole after removal.

#1.b
I also noticed that the the groove/journal the cam sits in (exhaust side still) has signs of something crazy happening? It’s hard to explain it so I’ve included a picture. Basically one of the grooves/journals has a lip of thin metal. It’s like the area go so hot, it melted and started to follow the rotation of the camshaft. Ummm… ya… any advice there?

Tl;dr
One of the brackets holding the exhaust cam in place is busted. Now what? Also the bolts used in those brackets were hard to remove on 0, 1, 2, 3 (metal shavings around the bolt hole). Cause for concern? Also, one of the grooves/journals on the exhaust side got a little melty. (See picture)

Wall #2 - valve lifters
Hopefully this one is easier and more straight forward. I noticed that some of the valve lifters compress (by hand) and feel squishy, while others offer no movement when compressed (by hand). Stiff ones need to be replaced? Or squishy ones?

tl;dr
Valve lifters supposed to be squishy or stiff when compressed by hand? Replace the incorrect ones?

Wall #3 - Bent Valves