MINI Cooper Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys,
I am new to this as owned my car for only just over a month. So gonna give it my best shot
I have a Second Generation (R56/57) 2007.

I noticed a slight oil leak, today and was wondering if anyone knew or had any Adivse? (See Video's/Sreenshot)
Video

This is Directly Under the middle of the bonnet. (Below Number plate)

Does anyone know which part is causing the problem?,
As well as rough esitmate for repair cost ect.

Just really worried?

·
Registered
9,030 Posts
vac pump, or oil filter housing, rocker cover gasket maybe might even be the oil cooler on oil filter housing,, looks from top to bottom

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
vac pump, or oil filter housing, rocker cover gasket maybe might even be the oil cooler on oil filter housing,, looks from top to bottom
Ok, Thanks

Hi, when i brought the car it had the , rocker cover gasket replaced. Maybe this is residue from the old leak?

I am going to clean and have a better look today

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
take it for a run after place some card under it leave it for a few hours see what oil is in card when come back,

Hi,
I have done this - please see attached photo. What do you think? Do you think it is worth a trip to the garage, or left over residue from the previous leak? The car has recently had an oil service in February 2020 after the rocker cover gasket was replaced.

Thank you.

·
Registered
9,030 Posts
deffo leak needs looking at, when they replaced the rocker cover gasket did they add two blobs of sealant on the passengerside end in the corners of rocker cover, from factory they come with this done as leak if not been done ,, also the vac pump is above where that leaks also common to leak oil from where bolts to head the rubber o-ring goes hard and leaks blob of sealant will stop this,

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #7