MINI Cooper Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to Mini and can do with some help on choosing the right car. We have a Rav4 and a 1998 C240 Class Merc, Although still quite a nice car, the Merc is costing me money now, oh its eligible for scrapage scheme. The Rav is a thirsty car but good for lugging things around for my business. Wife likes to use the Rav4 but has a heavy foot, so its not exciting to see 24.6 mpg average for city driving, plus the cost for brake discs and pads every so often. Btw: I used to have a 205 GTi and then a 405 Sri, I though it would be good to go back to Peugeot. 308 is a nice car but expensive for what we need.

Here is what I am thinking,.. and need a push;

Bite the bullet and trade the Merc for a Mini Cooper, thought about the Mini Graphite, but for future insurance purposes avoid it as it may attract a special rate… I don’t know if that is true ? Keep the Rav4 for Business and driveway, remove 19 year old from Rav insurance and save £600 PA.

My spec (major items listed) and questions are;

Cooper Petrol – will diesel be better for mileage, it is for road tax at £35pa, we do 5000 miles PA in the city, how long before extra cost is recovered.
Midnight black,
Same roof colour,
Stay with 15” but go for Rotor – cheaper tyres, better ride than low profile ??
Go with Cosmo Black - Rav4 has leather and its cold or hot, I don’t want to spend extra for heated seats
Space saver wheel – is this required, where does it sit ?
On-board computer – is it required ?
White indicator lenses – will these make a difference to how the car looks ?
Darkened rear glass – is this too much with black paint ?
Anthracite roof lining – what colour is it normally ?
Interior light pack – is it useful ?
Smokers Pack – we don’t smoke but does the pack give you an extra socket ?
Automatic gear box – both Rav4 & Merc have this, is the mini clutch light in traffic so not to justify automatic ?