MINI Cooper Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Patiently waiting...
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi...I'm new to the MINI thing! Need a little help speccing out my MC. All I've owned are Jeeps, so this is definitely going to be a change for me!

I am on a fairly tight budget (two girls and wife is stay-at-home mom)...here is what I'm trying to decide between:

Option 1:
Cold Weather Package
DSC
MFSW

Option 2:
Cold Weather Package
Sunroof

Cold Weather Package is a must as I live in Michigan. Also, I am open to suggestions...are there any other necessities for the Cooper?

Thanks for the help!!!

·
Registered
514 Posts
What fun - helping spec a Mini. I'm sure you'll get lots of good advice/opinions. :) Here's my $0.02 for what it's worth. Right now I have on 02 MC w/ all three packages, so I've had a chance to use all the major options on a regular basis.

The cold weather package, as you said is a must. Plus at only $300, it really is a bargain.

The sunroof is a wonderful luxury option. If you are using the car to carry all four of you on a regular basis, I'd seriously consider it. Our two kids have never complained of feeling crowded in the back (ages 12 and 6) and I think that the openness you get with the sunroof greatly contributes to that feeling. For me, it is the one option that gets used daily and I couldn't imaging not having it.

DSC is also a sound addition for winter driving especially since that is the only way to get the traction control. (that may not be true in other markets, but I believe ASC in US requires DSC.)

The multifunction wheel is a nice to have IMHO but not as big a factor in improving the motoring experience for everybody. Especially with the swith to the new 3 spoke wheel, where they removed the ability to switch between CD and radio. If you have to switch modes, on the radio it probably isn't that big a deal to hit another button for a station. If you seldom use cruise control, that's one more reason to skip the MFSW.