MINI Cooper Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
MINI VANILLI
203 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
just got a cooper with the sport package. since it come standard with performance tires, i was wondering how these tires are in the snow and slush? the pattern looks pretty agressive for a performance tire. i'm a pretty good winter driver, we get 5 months of snow up here in cleveland. i have DSC, ABS on my mini. the dealer told me alot of people drive on the mini performance tires all year round. does anybody have any experience driving on the performance tires that come with the cooper sport package? i know i SHOULD get other tires, but why would i if can use these. i really don't want to spend the extra money.

·
Sullivan Racing
1,117 Posts
My own theory is this: On ice, it doesn't matter what tires you have, you're going to slide. In snow, you just have to go SLOW. It amazes me how people around here will still be doing the speed limit despite 5" of snow on the road. I do not have snow tires and I do fine around here. I think the only reason I would get snow tires is if I were worried about getting stuck.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Ok so far

Mine are doing ok so far. Surprisingly good grip in snow, but they only have 10K km on them. They are the 16 inch Dunlops. We've had a fair amount of snow so far but it hasn't really gotten cold yet.

·
Benny the Yellow Cab
347 Posts
My two cents on this is...in snow skinney tires are best.

My 71 Moggie can go through just about any snow depth 'cause the narrow tires dig in and bite. Our other cars with wide tires have a problem.

Mayhaps - but this might be too horrible to imagine - get a set of narrow 15 inch rims that fit and mount up some winter tires....then run these during the dark months.

If nothing else, you'll extend the life of your very expensive 16's.

Peter...expecting snow...in Denver

·
cristo
2,858 Posts
I agree....performance tires suck in the snow, and when the temp is below 40F,