MINI Cooper Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys,

I'm highly frustrated and depressed so I thought I would share it with you to see if anyone has been in a similar situation.

Yesterday I was at my local mini dealer testing the R56 Cooper S. My intention being that I would get one within the next few months. After currently having a Cooper, I have now fallen for the fantastic Cooper S.

As I was walking out the dealer I saw a car (which had come in early that day - not even for sale yet) Black, Leather seats, SAT NAV, auto climate, FCA, 3 spoke m func steering wheel, all the extras etc etc.

I would love that car HOWEVER I’m struggling because of the following.

I’m 19. Someone hit me last year in JAN 07 but the claim is still pending because the other side will not admit liability. Therefore I’m struggling to get insurance. Until now I have been a named driver on my parents insurance but im looking to be on my own, as I will be using the car more. Therefore 0 NCB but I have been driving for over 2 years.

Without the accident I can easily get insurance, Adrian Flux and Admiral will both offer insurance. However when I mention the claim pending the quote is ridiculous.

My problem is that I have fallen in love with this car and who knows how long it will be before the claim is settled? It could be another year or two!

Obviously I have heard the saying there are "plenty more fish in the sea" so I’m sure I can find another car similar if I cant get this one, but I still don’t want to wait all this time to get things settled.

What can I do? Any ideas or tips welcome...

Thanks,

James

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Don't be ripped off on the insurance! Just wait till the claim is settled. As you rightly say there are plenty more fish in the sea...,