MINI Cooper Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
209 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Seen this mentioned afew times now, and bear with me as my background is Turbo cars and not SC !

What bearing does this pulley have on the engine as a whole. I have spoken to GTT and they insist on changing it. West dont seem to, JCW ??? do they, BBR dont mention it, just seems alittle hit and miss as to why some and some dont.

Sorry if this has been done before, but its slightly worrying that some people do it and others deem it un-necessary :confused:

·
Registered
511 Posts
eer, BBR were the first company to offer an idler pulley replacement with a Cosworth unit :rolleyes: . The JCW conversion doesn't require one because the pulley diameter is only 13.4% smaller than stock and for whatever reason, the BMW techs didn't see a problem with the standard idler pulley for this pulley size reduction. When you run a smaller pulley (15-19%) the replacement of the idler pulley is even more important; as I and BBR have been saying all along.

It is good to see that GTT tuning offers a replacement idler pulley since many many companies have neglected this, which smacks of poor development and lack of engineering intuition to be honest. Together with their very competitive pricing and sensible engineering solutions, GTT offers alot to the MINI consumer in a market clouded by people out there to make a quick buck at the expense of the customer. I still rate BBR v.v. highly though, just take your time when making a decision and visit as many tuners as possible. For the price and componentry, GTT look to take the market by storm in the coming months.

Henry

·
Registered
209 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I stand corrected on the BBR thing then, I did say bare with me :rolleyes:

I just dont see if it is that necessary why everyone doesn't change it. If it was that open to damage, and people like West and AMD etc are running 15% pulleys without it why are these not failing ???