MINI Cooper Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
I guess the DSC is ok in bad weather, but I turn it off most of the time. It limits the driver in the ability to drive the car. If I had my choice I would rather have one without it. If someone that is not too good of a driver uses the car it might be worthwhile.

·
MotorCityMadman
3,793 Posts
I didn't order DSC on mine and I live in the North. I had ASC on my BMW and it worked nicely for me in heavy snow, but that was with RWD and ice on the roads. Seeing the MINI is FWD and much more manuverable than the BMW, I didn't opt for it this time and don't regret it.

·
Track Addict
2,622 Posts
Hi,

I think it is worth it.

I am a reasonable driver, but still have a lot to learn. I have done over 25 driver training / race driving training days, and competed in around 20 track racing events and 2 rallies. I have an international class rally licence, national class circuit racing license, but I still have a long way to go before I could categorise myself a good driver.

On the racetrack I allways switch DSC off in the dry. On the street I never turn it off.

Many people get traction control and DSC mixed up. People get annoyed by the car bogging down on acceleration, especially out of corners. This is traction control, not DSC, and will happen whether you get DSC or not.