MINI Cooper Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have about 3000 miles on my new Cooper S - and I decided to give a quick check of the oil today before I headed out on a 7.5 hour drive. Alas, I was in serious need of some oil. I am curious if this is something I should be concerned about, or if it is typical for new cars. Any thoughts?

·
Registered
440 Posts
My sister had to top up her BMW Z4 four times within about 6 months. The dealer said it was perfectly normal as the engine is so big that it takes a while for all the nooks and crannies to fill with oil. I would say a couple of top ups on the mini is nothing to worry about, any more than that then theres something not right. Just my opinion though, I'm no mechanic.

·
Deals Gap Junkie
411 Posts
Most engines will consume at least a tiny bit of oil - nothing to worry about.

When your new engine is breaking-in, it will consume more oil as the seals and rings seat, just top it off.

·
Registered
104 Posts
Try to get hold of some MINI synthetic oil or, if that's not possible, a high-quality fully synthetic oil like Mobil 1 5W/30 (available from Halfords or Mobil garages).

·
Clubman D
1,365 Posts
MINI install Casrol SLX (NOT SLX II) at the factory, 0w 30. This is a synthetic oil, and synthetic should be used to achieve the 'extended' drain intervals. It should read Bmw Longlife '01 on the bottle. Its better to get the correct stuff to avoid ANY confusion over warranty issues that may occur.
Getting back to the low oil on your MCS, I have heared MCS owners complaining about this before, and it was the fact that they could not see the clean oil on the Yellow dipstick. I would check this bofore you start pouring a litre of oil in it!

·
Registered
255 Posts