MINI Cooper Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Little Minx
605 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
An incompetent prat has managed to erase virtually all email folders, video clips and photographs from my MAC (some of that stuff was on the Powerbook and the rest on .MAC) MAC "support" hasn't been very supportive and they've said that all's lost and there's no way of retrieving the deleted files :(

Now I'm no expert - I'm the incompetent prat actually - but I'm convinced there must be a way to do it, and some of you lot on here are hot on this sort of thing so, if you can, please help (post or PM). Much appreciated, people :)

·
UberGeek
850 Posts
Obvious question: Is is in the trash?

If not, you are more or less stuffed. On Windoze boxes with FAT filesystem, you can often recover files, because the FAT entry is deleted, but the content remains in the sectors marked as 'free'.

On Mac's (HFS), the inode will be freed up, but, due to the way that disk maintenance is fairly automatic (you never need to defrag a *nix volume, do you?), it's far more likely that the content has been overwritten.

Of course, in circumastances like these, you restore from backup. You have got a backup, right?

If not - it might be time to learn from this occassion, and invest in a method of backing up data. I have an external 200Gb firewire drive and I rsync my boxes (PowerMac, PowerBook, FreeBSD fileserver and FreeBSD firewall) to the external drive every night.

-Lee

·
UberGeek
850 Posts
punkeyfunky said:
If not - it might be time to learn from this occassion, and invest in a method of backing up data. I have an external 200Gb firewire drive and I rsync my boxes (PowerMac, PowerBook, FreeBSD fileserver and FreeBSD firewall) to the external drive every night.

-Lee
(Replying to my own post.. bad form I know)

If any *nix geeks out there are interested in how to do rsync over ssh, drop me a PM and I'll explain it.

-Lee

·
Little Minx
605 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Oh!