MINI Cooper Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all! I am indeed a newbie here, bought a mcs on a late 54 plate (facelifted model i believe) and absolutely love it!

I have been looking at various chipping services with the promise of boosting power to 200bhp plus...is this sales talk or is there a benefit for paying more for a better quality remap so to speak?

I am also interested in getting a new catback system to give the beast a deeper note and add a few bhp in the process, i am currently looking at a quicksilver exhaust....i am after a note that idles nicely but roars when you give it the beans.....am i better of going for a custom system that can taylor the exhaust note to how i want it.....or is it better to buy a standard fit system...?

I am aware of the advantages of getting a 15% pulley, however it is a company car and as such i am looking at a remap and exhaust as they can be be removed/reset with minimal ease if so required.....

My overall objective here really is to increase bhp to at least 200bhp with the exhaust....does this sound reasonable..?

Does anyone have any sugestions?! Thanks guys

·
Premium Member
2,170 Posts
I've seen as much as 195bhp from a standard car in stock form, cat backs and air filters show very little improvement over stock, this is why JCW listed them as; sound kits.

For the price you can get a 15% pulley fitted this will give you the most reward for the £ spent and let the next owner enjoy some of the extra trq and hp across the rpm as well that you were lucky enough to experience:biggrin:

JawF430 makes 270+bhp with a stock cat back :nice:

·
MINI Obsessed...
4,989 Posts
Like Paul said....if you want a cheap sound kit then go with the exhaust and filter but for power it can only be hard mods to the engine. e.g. pulleys, cam, head.