MINI Cooper Forum banner
1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, i am a newbie here.
I want a good sounding exhaust on my R56

Would a milltek exhaust be better sounding than having a JCW tuning kit's exhaust?
What does the cat back do to the sound of the exhaust, is it purely for performance gain?

Where in the UK is the cheapest place to get the milltek including fitting?

Sorry for all the questions:eek:

·
Factory JCW
658 Posts
Im running the full Milteck System on my S.
My views are its a nice sounding exhaust when warmed up, if you drive normally no hard push of the accelerator you dont notice it alot. It comes into its own on full blip of the accelaerator and when its nicley warmed up.
The Milteck will release much more power than the jcw tuning kit exhaust as this is quite restrictive, the manifold part ..
The tail pipes nicely expand out when hot, then as they cool down they retract back in again to bumper trim level.:cool:

The only thing id say, i drove the factory jcw car and that did pop/bang more than the milteck, it seems to have slightly larger end pipes coming from the rear box.

Prices i brought mine through Lohens group buy, so id look around on web for best prices, and the sponsors on here.

·
Registered
851 Posts
What does the cat back do to the sound of the exhaust, is it purely for performance gain?
The cat back is unlikely to give much power gain, it should help with sound though. The power is in the full turbo back system using the Milltek high flow cat. Which by the way you can use with the standard MCS or tuning kit exhaust should you wish. (But its possible Milltek won't warrant this... you'd need to check)

·
Mini Maniac
138 Posts
Have you had a look on you tube? There are a few videos on there of the milltek exhaust and loads of the JCW exhaust.

Personally i prefer the sound of the JCW. It bangs and burbles a lot more.:D See what you think.

G

·