MINI Cooper Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a mini cooper S 2002...obviously. Its got a standard box airfilter on it at the moment, can anyone reccomend an induction that works well with the cooper S or is the standard incution as good as it gets? Don't get me wrong the mini flies, and keeps up with type R's etc, but it would be nice to upgrade to a better induction if possible. As for the value, well I'd keep the original airbox anyway. Any ideas???

Also it needs new brake pads, mini quote £300.....again, any help?

I'm new to Mini's I'd love to join the community, anyone know of any meets in south west wales, or oxfordshire?

Thanks Jonny

·
Registered
1,616 Posts
Just replacing the panel filter with a washable permanent filter from the likes of K&N or Minimania or other would yield you a noticeable difference in the midrange. These are not expensive and you keep your airbox intact. In the long run, it's also less expensive than replacing air filters as routine maintenance on your car.

Then there are the cold air intakes. They cost a bit more, but actually yield you a bit of horsepower. Also, you will notice your supercharger whines louder. Some people like it :D, some people don't like the noise. But if you plan on subsequent mods to your engine to yield even more power, then a cold air intake is pretty well a requirement.

Welcome to the MINI community. MINI2 is a great place to do some research as to what people of done to add performance to their cars as well as some of the pitfalls that may happen. Also there are sponsors to this site that can help you make an educated decision.

A lot of people here fell Mikethemini is a great resource.

Cheers!

·
Registered
373 Posts