MINI Cooper Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
I love my toy
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Everyone, i'm new to the forums as i just picked up an 02. Im a noob around mini's but not around cars in general... My question is, how well do the stock, non turbo/ s/c motors respond to boost? What psi can safely be run on them with proper tuning? And, what kind of numbers should i expect to see?
Any help would be much appreciated!
Andrew

·
PowerSteeringPumpActivist
8,410 Posts
Hey Everyone, i'm new to the forums as i just picked up an 02. Im a noob around mini's but not around cars in general... My question is, how well do the stock, non turbo/ s/c motors respond to boost? What psi can safely be run on them with proper tuning? And, what kind of numbers should i expect to see?
Any help would be much appreciated!
Andrew
Hello Andrew - welcome to MINI2! :D

I think the general concensus is that for the cost of putting forced induction on a ONE/Cooper without having it go bang straight away, it makes more economic sense to simply trade in for a Cooper S. In order to run low enough boost so as not to risk an expensive mistake, it also is not cost effective for the gains. :eek:

Consequently, not many (if any) on here have taken that route - the usual pattern is that people dream about it for a couple of weeks but then they always trade in for the S. :p

All the best,
Andrew (your evil twin from another dimension).​

·
THE STICK
3,902 Posts
Basically the stock NA engine is not that strong. You can expect that it might cope with 150bhp output, but the gearboxes become very unreliable at over 130bhp from the experiences of the tuners and owners on here over the years.