MINI Cooper Forum banner
1 - 20 of 57 Posts

· Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys,

I’m a newbie on this forum but I’m hoping some of your expertise may be able to help me resolve this issue.

My partners Mini One R56 1.4 had a terrible knocking and could see when I took the head cover off that the chain had play in it.

I went ahead and ordered a timing chain kit and locking kit and on dismantling the existing the chain the tensioner was removed in 2 parts.

I replaced the chain and tensioner put it back together and it was smooth for a few seconds and then had a rough idle after touching the accelerator and got the EML (P10012).

I’ve sinced stripped it down and found that the inlet camshaft had jumped out of timing. I have since replaced the VANOS sprockets and retimed with replacement stretch bolts (each time). When retiming I have left the the VANOS sprockets & crank bolt loose, fit the tensioner and torque the bolts to the correct torque.

The same thing happens and I find that once the inlet has jumped timing it allows the VANOS inlet sprocket to move independent of the camshaft.

I have read that I have to do a VANOS reset, which I have now learned how to do with INPA but have tried it after rebuilt yet.

Any advise would be appreciated.

· Registered
13,590 Posts
do a compression test on all cylinders before moving forward. as slipped teeth tend to mean bent valves,
as for timing up the engine you dont set the timing with the spring tensioner fitted must use the dummy tensioner that comes with lock tool kit and a very set way of setting it all up ie must be checked and re checked the timing as you go until the final part where the stretch bolts are stretched

· Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Mike,

Thanks for your feedback.

I did a compression test across the cylinders and got 150 PSI across all 4.