MINI Cooper Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here's the situation. I placed an order for an 05 S back at the beginning of September ( BRG/B, all 3 packages, HK upgrade). So I've been tracking it's progress on line for the past ~2 months. It wasn't until it was on a ship (or at least at the port) that any of the car details were updated. Only basic info was available before then (VIN, color, model), and it was listed as BRG. So everything seemed fine by me. However, when all the details were finally available I noticed that is had listed "Body color mirror caps". Odd, I thought, maybe they changed the way they're doing things or maybe it's a glitch in their system.

Well, today I got a call from my MA saying my car should be there shortly (a day or so), we talk a little bit about financing (don't even start with me about that) and then ask him. "I noticed in the tracking information that it says I'm getting body color mirror caps, is that normal now?". Turns out someone (not my MA) [expletive deleted] up the order at the dealer (at it seems said party is no longer with the company). So needless to say I'm not at all happy with the situation. They have offered to fix the problem (get the roof painted black) but I don't know if I really want that. But then again I don't feel like waiting another 2 months for a proper car. Waiting for a new one would be slightly less of a problem (think nano-meter slight) if I had a working car of my own at this point. Currently my car (not a Mini) is parked on the road at home and needing a new CV joint.

So anyone have any ideas on what to do? I'm going to go up to the dealer this weekend and take a look at the car before I make any kind of decision.

·
MINI2 No.1
42,467 Posts
CmdrVimes said:
So anyone have any ideas on what to do? I'm going to go up to the dealer this weekend and take a look at the car before I make any kind of decision.
Good idea.