MINI Cooper Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
937 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A question for all you tire "experts". Which tire is going to be better in the rain? I am thinking of getting the performance tires and using my "beater" (Suzuki Samurai) for the snow we get once in awhile her in Baltimore, but I don't want to be driving on "snot" when the roads get wet from rain. Watcha think?

·
Registered
97 Posts
I had always heard that summer AKA performance tires are better in the dry or the wet. All season tires are by definition a compromise in terms of compound and tread pattern to deal with wet, dry and snow. Of course, I'm no expert :)

Any other thoughts?

·
Registered
1,368 Posts
not an expert in this field either. AFAIK, performance tires, (V-rated and higher) have advance designed tread patterns which channel away water better allowing them to maintain optimal grip in wet or dry. So as long as you are not driving in snowy/icy surfaces, performance tires would be the optimum 'shoes' for your Cooper.

for a great tire reference guide, check tirerack.com

·
puckstopper
4,260 Posts
Here's another question on the all-season/performance issue; It has been my experience that "all-season" tires, along with being a fairly mediocre compromise as a summer tire, are also a fairly mediocre compromise as a winter tire (at least in places that have a real winter). For that reason, I'm probably going to go for the "performance tire" option and get a set of real snow tires. Odds are I'll probably get a set of cheap and ugly wheels to go with the snow tires, probably 16" rims instead of 17".

Here's the issue: Does anyone actually make a run-flat snow tire, or will I need to buy a doughnut spare and put it in the boot all winter? Or will/does MINI offer a spare to people as an option even if they are getting run-flats?

-Ricardo

·
Registered
300 Posts
Note:

All-seasons last twice as long as performance...