MINI Cooper Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello

I hope I am posting in correct place - mod please move if not.

I would really like you advice as I am a lady driver, with no clue about cars and often feel fleeced when going to the dealer. I'd like to sound like I know what I am talking about with this issue!

I own a 51 reg MINI One. I am experiencing several problems at the moment (posted in the faults/ fixes 1st gen forum) but need advice on this new one, discovered today!!

My car is currently at the dealers, having its first Inspection 2 service.

They rang me today to ask if I ever smelt burning smell in my car. I said I did (but it smelt oily - related to a problem I am having with my car guzzling oil, but not a burn smell)

They said that they have noticed that my rear calipers are sticking which is wearing my pads. They have quoted £630 to stop the calipers from sticking and putting new pads on (cant remember if they said discs as well, not sure.....)

I was really surprised at this as it only had its MOT a few months ago and it wasnt mentioned then.

And only a year ago, I had new pads and discs put on my car at an independant dealer.

The person I spoke to today said that perhaps the independant dealer who replaced my discs hadnt noticed that the calipers were sticking..... does that sound likely to you?

Having done a bit of research on the net, I have read about people with minis experiencing sticking calipers replaced under warranty. Obviously I am out of warranty now, but I wanted to know..... is sticking calipers a fault with the car? Do you think I could use this as a way of arguing to reduce the costs?

Does the quote from the dealer sound a lot for the job - if I went to an independant garage, what sort of costs am I looking at?

Would the brake discs need changing also? Or is it just the pads?