MINI Cooper Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
SCNM Oldie!
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

Im new to registaring to the forum, but have been a long standing follower.

I have a few questions.

I have been closly reading about induction kits/CAI systems. The Alta model takes my fancy. But i would like to clear a few things up. I read a post on here stating that one member used a custom cai on there r56 turbo and felt that the turbo was under spooling every time they let of the power and the turbo was less responsive and had to spool up again everytime the accelerator was pushed. Why?

Also can anyone tell me if they feel the same sort of thing with the alta? Because its £200 and for that i dont want a decrease in performance.

Is there a noticable performance increase?

I like the pssssssssttttt sound but i have heard that with these modded induction systems you can hear the turbo spool up quite clearly, is this true of the Alta and other systems?

Thanks everyone in advance.

·
Registered
851 Posts
Hi All,
I have been closly reading about induction kits/CAI systems. The Alta model takes my fancy. But i would like to clear a few things up. I read a post on here stating that one member used a custom cai on there r56 turbo and felt that the turbo was under spooling every time they let of the power and the turbo was less responsive and had to spool up again everytime the accelerator was pushed. Why?

Also can anyone tell me if they feel the same sort of thing with the alta? Because its £200 and for that i dont want a decrease in performance.

Is there a noticable performance increase?

I like the pssssssssttttt sound but i have heard that with these modded induction systems you can hear the turbo spool up quite clearly, is this true of the Alta and other systems?

Thanks everyone in advance.