MINI Cooper Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have recently purchased a 2008 r52 S. I Love this car! I am a carpenter by trade and never afraid to work on my vehicles. I am much more confident having this group to learn from so thanks for all the posts, Love the group. Now..to the point.
The car was suffering from a couple issues when I purchased it. Replaced the Struts and links as I had a bad strut bearing. It had a coolant leak so I started with the thermostat housing, but after further inspection, it was water pump related. Not sure what was leaking, so I replaced everything, I think it was the flange gasket. While I had everything apart, I serviced the Supercharger. It had plenty of oil in both sides, but it was dark and thicker then the new stuff. I heard about timing chain tensioners being an issue so I figured I would be proactive on that. There was no issue before hand, but once i started the car, there was a rattle. I figure it took a minute for the tensioner to open, so I let it run. Rattle went away. Started it the next day and the rattle was back...So now it sits. I ordered a new Timing chain kit and was thinking I would start by swapping out the tensioner. If it fixes the rattle, can I trust that it is fixed? I know Gen 1 doesn't usually have issue with the timing chain. I'm only at 60K miles. Should I just replace the whole thing?

·
Registered
6,277 Posts
would only ever fit genuine timing chain tensioner on gen 1 cars had so many after market ones go faulty or just not open up on first start up, also always change oil and filter before starting it again after fitting as they need oil pressure to open up silly design i think ie they arrive all sucked in and for the first start up the chains is all slack until oil forces them out, devils advocate would make me suspect lol oil pressure ie need to rule this out for piece of mind,

·
Registered
429 Posts