MINI Cooper Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello

Has anyone investigated the possibility of a roof rack ? Do BMW make one to fit ? I have never used one before. Unfortunately if you need to pack the car up with people and luggage it really seems to become necessary.

Thanks

·
Registered
5,956 Posts
BMW Group Australia has wisely decided against the standard rack that requires holes cut into the roof for fitment. They are looking at other designs from outside suppliers for an alternative method of fitment.

·
MINI2 Master BLASTER!!!!!
1,532 Posts
Yeah I asked my dealer, but he kept on telling me to wait until my car arrives, I'm getting a notion that BMW don't want the rack to be used, even though they have advertised it!

I'm only speculating the, anyays I don't want 4 plastic cover stuck in my white roof, wehn I'm not using the rack!

what if someone pinches em? it ranis and your car gets wet duing to water draining down through the drilled holes and seeping out throught the rrof cloth into your car! BAD!!!

·
Registered
5,956 Posts
Ibb said:
Yeah I asked my dealer, but he kept on telling me to wait until my car arrives, I'm getting a notion that BMW don't want the rack to be used, even though they have advertised it!

I'm only speculating the, anyays I don't want 4 plastic cover stuck in my white roof, wehn I'm not using the rack!

what if someone pinches em? it ranis and your car gets wet duing to water draining down through the drilled holes and seeping out throught the rrof cloth into your car! BAD!!!

Ummm......yes cutting four holes in the roof of the car seems a little drastic. And far too permanent. I would wait until some of the major rack manufacturers come up with a better arrangement.

:)

·
Addicted to Speed!!
4,865 Posts
Smokey said:
Hello