MINI Cooper Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
405 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all I MIGHT be buying a MCS Convertible very shortly and am just turbo reading through this forum to raise my awareness on the convertible and any issues etc

One thing which keeps popping up is Scuttle Shake... what on earth is this?!?

Any other tips/advice etc would be fantastic as I really am a complete newbie when it comes to convertibles. I have owned 2 hatchbacks (both R53 and R56) before so I am no stranger to Minis however :)

Thanks for any support!

·
MINI2 No.1
42,467 Posts
The scuttle panel is basically the entire dash area, the top of it, the front of it, behind it etc. On soft tops you tend to get scuttle panel to greater or lesser degree because a lot of metal has been chopped of the original hatch/saloon/whatever, and despite reinforcing the frame/chassis, it's not usually as stiff as a tin top. The scuttle shake is basically a result of this. If you stick your finger between the dash top/side and the door panel, you will be able to feel movement. Not always wise, as you may get it pinched in the process.

·
Registered
405 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
One more quick question....Slightly worried about what I am reading MPG wise! Coming from a highly tuned R53 Cooper S with about 230bhp.. I was getting around 32mpg which I thought was ok... I see that convertibles are getting around 25?!? This seems very low, is this right?

·
MINI2 No.1
42,467 Posts
You'll need someone else to come in on that one, as with the press cars I wouldn't usually drive them as I would my own! :eek: That said, it didn't seem shockingly different. But I struggled to keep a regular S above 30 anyway!

·
off out....
19,946 Posts