MINI Cooper Forum banner

How's the Getrag tranny?

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
MINI Owner!
415 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've seen many negative and many positive responses about this box.... what do you guys think about it?

·
Registered
89 Posts
Ditto,

I love the slick shift but reverse really makes me cringe. I sometimes take that extra few seconds when selecting reverse so as not to crunch it. Apart from that is is brill,

·
Mini in Maine
556 Posts
Carefully read your instruction manual...

L13 Cooper said:
the reverse gear is crap, and its really notchy!!
and I think you'll find it's the way you're shifting into reverse, not the reverse itself.

·
Sullivan Racing
1,117 Posts
I have no personal experience with the new getrag box, but I am suprised at all of the issues people are having with it. I have to say, though, that I really do like my midlands box on my 03 Cooper. It really has a nice solid feel without being notchy. Funny that the "upgrade" seems to be so problematic.

·
Premium Member
262 Posts
I've never driven the Midlands unit so I can't comment on that. I have a :red: MCS with the 6-speed and had a loaner MCC on the weekend.

The MC Getrag 5-speed shifts smoother than my 6-speed but I don't like the reverse in it - too graunchy.

Other than reverse though, it's a dream to drive. Very nice with good gearing.

·
Patiently waiting...
13 Posts
I've only driven the MC once (test drive), but I can tell you that the tranny is much better than that of a Jeep!!!

As for the reverse gear, I believe that there is no way of syncing reverse with the forward gears...so no matter how expensive or precise the tranny, reverse may still be out of sync on occasion. It is just a matter of putting the tranny in neutral, lifting off the clutch for a moment and pressing it down again...or if that doesn't work you can put it into first again and then back to reverse...its just a matter of getting the gears to line up. You shouldn't have to force it though.

·