MINI Cooper Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to Mini2, so please go easy on me if I'm a bit green!

Me & misses are about to buy a new Cooper, but have a few queries...

1) Residual values - the new mini initially appears good value, but adding any obvious options (standard on many other cars in this bracket) such as alarm, cd, air con soon bumps the price up to worrying levels! We don't believe we can do without alarm, cd, a/c and tlc and the chilli pack is also v.tempting, but will most of this be lost in 3years time come trade in ?

2) Suspension - I've read many previous posts on this site about suspension firmness with the SPS+ suspension. I've driven some v.v.firm riding cars - Hyundai Coupe F2 on directional 225x16x40 profile rubber all round was especially bad... some people say SPS+ is too firm - basically, how's it compare with other cars, e.g. Puma + other hot/warm hatches ?

·
Registered
14 Posts
:cool: Let me get my first FIRST REPLY in.

Residuals for extras depends on usefulness. AC will increase secondhand price, though not a lot, but will definately make it sell better. I doubt sports plus suspension will make any differance. Its not visable and not a big selling point.

I test drove the ONE and COOPER back to back to see if the performance was noticable. Not a lot of differance in engine performance, wouldn't miss it?, but the firmness and handling of the sports suspension was similar to my old Renault 19 16V. That could overtake anything on a roundabout.

Personally I like to drive a car that handles more like my motorcycles. Many will find it too hard if they're used to softer set ups. I get sea sick in some cars that pitch and roll like a pedallo :D

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #3